Posted by: webbhouston | September 7, 2009

The end of summer

I work in downtown houston which means that I walk 4 blocks to my car.  It also means that I get the luxury that few people in Houston get, the luxury of actually walking every day.

At first I saw it as a bore, ugh… it takes me 15 minutes to get to work, then 15 minutes to get to the car. This just makes my commute longer in my eyes… so annoying. But after a while you learn to really enjoy it. The hustle and bustle of downtown in any large city is like a symphony. The honking and the screeching. The birds and the brakes of the busses hissing…  then there are the smells. The exhaust and the grass. The beer from the concerts the night before that have been spilled all over the floor. The homeless people asking for handouts. The broken glass. No, this is not the most attractive few minutes ever and sometimes it is really almost scary… but on mornings like today’s it is glorious.

There was a slight breeze, and you could see the sun rise above the skyscrapers. It was brisk but the walk helped warm me up.  Leaves were turning on the floor of this concrete jungle and it was so quiet I could hear my dry hair crinkle as I moved. My shoes clicked and clacked along the floor and my keys in my bag jingled… I remembered why I love this time of year.  The heat is slowly dissipating and the morning starts off with dew on my windshield.

There is a very small amount of time when it is actually enjoyable to walk in downtown and this is when it starts.  Walking in the wintertime can be fun if you are properly dressed to handle the cold nipping at you from every angle but this time is when the weather really makes it wonderful. You can feel the sun kiss you lightly while you feel the breeze cool you down.

Unfortunately I know what this means. It means the end of summer in my city. Fall will be here before you know it. If the sounds of the school buses didnt already give away to the end of the days of sunshine and popsicles. This weekend is Labor Day weekend and we will make the treck to the inlaws for our quarterly meet up with them. Their home has lots of trees and space where the kids will play and run around.

I guess we should bring their sweaters.

Leave a Reply

Categories

