Posted by: webbhouston | April 4, 2009

Thai Sweet Sauce for Spring Rolls

I love Asian food.  I actually like it more than Mexican food which is awful I know since I am Mexican.

Thai is a very close second (sometimes it is first) favorite behind Chinese food and one of the reasons why is because of their amazing sauces… peanut sauces, sweet spicy sauces… just amazing.

Last night I made this sauce to put on chicken satay, yes I know that usually people eat it with peanut sauce but I had no peanuts and I wanted this. Sue me.

I have to share the sauce here because it is just so amazing. Right now I am eating it poured over some steamed jasmine rice and just loving it.

Sweet sauce for spring rolls (this is also REALLY good on tofu)

Start off with a simple syrup… 1 part water and 1 part sugar. For this recipe I used half a cup of both. These need too simmer and reduce by 1/2 – 1/3. You know it is ready when you put a spoon in it and it coats the spoon.. you know.. like syrup.

add to this 1/2 of red wine vinegar. i actually didnt have any so i used white whine vinegar.. the result was very similar though not as good… but know that you can use this in a pinch. make sure that it is good stuff though…not the cheap stuff. this is worth it.

Now, I know you are supposed to use a couple Tbsps. of fish sauce but we cant have that here and if you are veganizing this you cant… so omit this. The result will not be exactly the same but really.. it doesnt need it (i know I might get angry emails because of this and I am prepared to deal with that).

After it reduces you add the vinegar, fish sauce, red pepper flakes (to taste, I like it HOT so I add 3 or 4 tsps.) and some shredded carrots. again.. to taste.. I like it in mine a LOT. I usually HATE carrots but this calls for them… and they give it a nice color.

Mix this all together and let it sit for a bit. Chilling it would be good but not chilling it is ok too. I also add a little green onions to it. Most people dont but I love it in mine.

If I had a choice I would hook an IV full of this stuff to my vena cava… the rest of you that understand moderation just should enjoy this.

Responses

  1. Ok. I thought I’d never need to actually say this but now I am going to say it. Anytime you have, eat, cook Asian food — ANYTIME — you need to invite me over. Do you understand that? Ok, thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

