Posted by: webbhouston | February 8, 2009

The good and the bad

The Good:

Since Mike has been out of town I know that he has not been eating well so I made a salad for dinner to help his body recover from the evil crap food that he has been eating in Austin.

I used the fruits from our CSA share this week and veggies. It has beet greens, apples, citrus, and more.

I put some honey covered walnuts in it and make a citrus and apple cider vinegar dressing.

The bad:

I made baked fudge.

I baked it in some ceramic loaf pans that i have. One for me, one for Mike.

Mike had his in a nice glass container. With ice cream.  He is civilized… that cannot be expected from me.

I ate mine right out of the pan 🙂

Baked Fudge

2 eggs
1 cup sugar
2 heaping tablespoons cocoa
2 tablespoons flour
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 300 to 325 degrees.
Beat eggs until light in color. Beat in sugar until just combined.
Add cocoa, flour, melted butter, and vanilla extract. Mix gently until well combined.
Pour batter into four large ramekins or 1 8-inch square baking dish.
Set ramekins or pan into a larger pan halfway full of water.
Bake 40 to 50 minutes, or until upper crust is crispy and the rest of the batter is firm but not set. Toothpick should come out…not clean, but mixture should not be overly runny.

I ate mine with ice cream, you can make a whipped cream topping for it.

I shamlessly stole this from Pioneer Woman. Bless her soul.

Responses

  1. Tell me exactly how good it was. I’m craving Dunkin Heins/Godiva brownies right now but thought I’d give these a try if they taste just as good… LMK.


Leave a Reply

Categories

