Posted by: webbhouston | January 30, 2009

I am a Challah Back Girl

Usually I dont use recipes but my friend Katie B. sent me this recipe for vegan Challah bread.

1 1/2 c. warm H2O
3 T. sugar
3 tsp. yeast
4 1/4 c. flour
2 tsp salt
2 Tbsp oil

mix warm water with sugar and yeast, when it proofs, add the rest of the stuffs.

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes or less.

I have a great fear of baking. I seriously do. I have this engrained inability to follow directions so baking always fails for me greatly. This recipe seemed simple enough that even I, the baking challenged would be able to successfully create this without it exploding in my face.

This is what my bread looked like when it was finished being beat down and braided.  I am not an expert at braiding stuff, and I never played with playdough so I am sure it looks awful. It was as pale as a scandanavian goth kid in winter.

It obviously looked great and it tasted wonderfully. I am so excited about this because I did it all by hand. I didnt use a mixer or a machine… I put all of the mixins on the counter and poured them into a little volcano made of flour and just kneaded and kneaded until it was all mixed. I really exercised the gluten and it really came out flufffy.. the yeast did its thing and we are all enjoying a beautiful bread that is both vegan and tasty.

Who said baking was rocket science?

Right after I made this I also made some Carrot Cake with Kate. I will post pics of it later on tonight because it was moist and perfect.  Carrot cake and i are friends now too.

Responses

  1. Great, now I’m starving. Thanks.

    Seriously, that looks incredible.

  2. I am sure they travel well via postal service. :p


Leave a Reply

Categories

