Posted by: webbhouston | January 13, 2009

Bread

It is expensive to buy organic bread and it is really a hassle to find. Mike really doesnt like whole wheat or “healthy” breads so I decided that what we needed was to make our own bread.  So far it has worked. Mike has made some beautiful batches and eventhough the last one wasnt 100% ok (it deflated) it was still great. Bread it kind of a science and really what makes this all possible is our little Sunbeam bread machine. I dont care that it is a unitasker. I also dont care that many people would call it “cheating”. It works just fine and we have organic and yummy bread from it.

I saw this recipe for Five Minutes a day bread and it seems like it would work for us. We are crazy busy and sometimes this break making thing takes a real long time.

We will get brave though…. and when we do I want to try this potato bread recipe.

Tonight is the first night that Mike goes back to teaching this semester. He teaches two classes again, this time on Tuesday nights and on Saturday mornings. I always miss him and the kids go crazy without their beloved father.

Another gadget that I have been loving this new year has been my rice cooker. Mike bought me an amazing rice cooker for Christmas last month and I have been really using it often.  Last night I made chicken Mole sauce with spanish rice and the rice cooker took care of the rice for me.  I boiled the chicken and used the stock from it to make the rice and to make the mole sauce.

144752232308_0_alb

Speaking of food… Calvin my little chunkster is crazy trying to get solid food into his little mouth. He grabs at plates, he tries to stuff things in his mouth all of the time. He lunges at people eating and he stares at our plates, following the food to our mouths like a lost puppy. I feel sometimes like an awful mother for not giving in to his obvious desire for wanting solid foods, but I have my reasons.

What are they?

Glad you asked!!

To begin with these are the signs that an infant is ready for solids. (From Kellymom.com)

  • Baby can sit up well without support.
  • Baby has lost the tongue-thrust reflex and does not automatically push solids out of his mouth with his tongue.
  • Baby is ready and willing to chew.
  • Baby is developing a “pincer” grasp, where he picks up food or other objects between thumb and forefinger. Using the fingers and scraping the food into the palm of the hand (palmar grasp) does not substitute for pincer grasp development.
  • Baby is eager to participate in mealtime and may try to grab food and put it in his mouth.

Shake n Bake is 85% there but not 100% so he gets no solids yet. He is also not 6 months old yet which is the minimum that one should wait to introduce solids to a child. We have a family with a history of allergies, Kate has dairy allergies so I am going to wait as long as I can to make sure that his “gut” has been closed. For the first year solids are just for play anyways as babies need to stay on breastmilk being their primary source of nutrition for at least a year so I am in no hurry.

If you see the picture above, he isnt hurting or starving… so we really dont need to stuff him full of food quite yet. Also it will be cheaper for us to not feed him solids. When he is on solids he will eat us out of house and home. Seriously folks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

