Posted by: webbhouston | November 30, 2008

Thanksgiving food fest 2008

Cranberries

Cranberries

Apart from the food that I made for Thanksgiving, my Inlaws had food for us as well. We did some cooking on Thursday morning.

First we made the fruit salad.

Apple peelin

Apple peelin'

I hate, hate, hate, hate, hate peeling things. I had to peel apples and cucumbers for the salads. I hate this. I am awful at it.

Fruit Salad Part 1

Fruit Salad Part 1

Into the fruit salad go bananas, apples, oranges…

Fruit Salad Part 2

Fruit Salad Part 2

Chopped Walnuts and Cherries…

Fruit salad Part 3

Fruit salad Part 3

Marshmellows and coconut shreds…

Fruit salad final

Fruit salad final

Then you stir and eat.

Seriously folks this is the bestest yummy salad ever.

Then comes the regular salad. Our salads are usually really simple. Sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. Nothing more needed.

salad

salad

The gravy is made with bits of a boiled to death chicken.  The broth and bits are used to make the best gravy ever in the histories of gravies.  This is something that my mother in law makes and I have never been able to replicate..and you know what? IT IS OK. I am not competing with my mother in law about how awesome we can cook because I know I will never win. I have learned to accept that. That woman cooks better than anyone that I know.

The humble beginnings of the wonderful gravy

The humble beginnings of the wonderful gravy

and now… the turkey.

Turkey death.

Turkey death.

My father in law and Mike rigged up this contraption that is usually used for putting up deer to be skinned. I think it is called a “game cleaner tripod thingie” or something of the sort.

Turkey dunking

Turkey dunking

Frying a turkey is a serious business folks. It has to be lowered very slowly and delicately if not then it makes tons of bubbles and houses burn and are lit on fire. This was done out in their land with this hand cranked pully system of sorts. So we were all safe.

Turkey dunking part 2

Turkey dunking part 2

The ladders all around are to keep my kiddos out of the line of fire because Kate is very curious and would be all up in the Turkey’s business.

Of course along with all of this good food… we need pie.

3.14

3.14

This pie is basically a can of eagle brand sweetened condensed milk, cream cheese, lemon juice, and stirring… no bake.  The top is cherries with um.. cherry good. Easiest pie ever. Best pie ever. Again, Mother in law recipe. Dont bother asking me to replicate it. I give up.

Responses

  1. […] Excerpt from […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

