Posted by: webbhouston | November 26, 2008

Construccion of thanksgiving

As a side dish t take to my inlaws I made cassoulet.

I first heard of this dish when I was watching the food network. Since we love chilli and we love beans and meat I figured this would be a great dish for us to enjoy.  So a few weeks ago I made some and it was a hit. Huge hit. It was decided that I would make this for Thanksgiving of Xmas so this morning I started the dish.

This starts with some good Northern Beans.

Beanz Beanz Good for your heart...

Beanz Beanz Good for your heart...

These beans had a yummy ham hock that was used to give them some flavor.

Ham Hock Beanz!

Ham Hock Beanz!

Adding in some aromatics… onions and celery. Nicely chopped and ready to give up their yummy goodness to my meal.

Celery

Celery

I used small red onions because they are sweeter and they were on sale. I am all about the sales, especially because there are hardly any sales on organic foods.

Onion guts.

Onion guts.

Most of the complicated part of this dish is the tons of herbs that are in it. Thyme, Bay leafs, etc…

Herbssssssssss

Herbssssssssss

Making the peach crisp was fun. I always like using my hands and getting all dirty, as we speak I have flour in my belly button.

Crispy Crisp

Crispy Crisp

This is what muffin guts look like. The smell divine and taste even better.

Pumpkin muffin guts

Pumpkin muffin guts

Now dont you feel like cooking up a storm?

Leave a Reply

Categories

