Posted by: webbhouston | November 10, 2008

Homemade mints – Cooking with Essential Oils

This weekend I got a great craving for mints. Dont ask me why, I cant explain it myself.

I found an old recipe that I made a long time ago for Cream Cheese mints.

I dont use the concentrated peppermit extract that most people use when making this. I use good old fashioned Peppermint Essential Oils. Food grade of course.

I believe that the art of cooking and using essential oils has been lost recently. Mostly because we buy everything prepackaged at the store all ready with the tastes that we want, which is unfortunate really. A great deal of this is an art that is passed down through generations. I guess the ease of the megalomart has made this become almost obscelete.

Anyways, my kitchen is fully stocked with essential oils that I use for cooking, cleaning, massages, aromatherapy, and more. When making these mints this weekend and I used my Peppermint EO the smell just took over my head and my whole upper respiratory system. I was in a good mood for the rest of the day and it lasted to the next day.

My goal this week is to use more EOs in my cooking. They are not that expensive really because you use so little of them that they last forever if properly cared for and they are actually good for you. So next time you want to give something a nice kick. Try some EOs, the results may surprise you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

