Posted by: webbhouston | November 8, 2008

It is 10 am and dinner is on the stove already

close

close

The kids and I woke up around 7: 00 am and watched Mike get ready for class. He teaches on Saturday mornings at the college and leaves us for half of the day.  I instantly had a craving that I could not shake. So I woke up, fed the kids (for Calvin this means Bewbs and for Kate it means either cereal, eggs, cheese, or whatever she can find on the floor), got them dressed and warm. it was 67 i our house this morning, I am sure you yankees (said with a thick Scarlett accent) think that 67 is a joke but to us southern belles *fans self* this is just freezing and I was worried that my babies would get pnemonia… so they got socks and leg warmers forced on them.

The kitchen looked inviting.

closer

closer

My craving got stronger. I realized that I had everything that I needed to make it… but.. well it was early in the morning and I really felt ridiculous making dinner before lunch. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that no law says that I cant have dinner for lunch. After all, I have cereal for dinner sometimes when I am feeling very lazy.

closest

closest

The fridge also said that I needed to empty out some of it’s contents… and I really listen to the fridge when it says that.  Recently I have found a new love for my old Magic Bullet and I pulled it out and stuffed it with things for it to torture.

Pulse a few minutes, add some beautiful organic chicken thighs from our trip to the UBER HEB from last night and…

Voila!

Voila!

Thair Bar B Que Chicken

Chicken
4 stalks fresh lemon grass
1 tablespoon coarsely chopped ginger
1 ounce garlic, finely chopped (about 6 large cloves)
4 shallots
1/2 cup coarsely chopped Chinese parsley roots
3 tablespoons brown sugar (screw that, bring out the AGAVE NECTAR POWER!!!!)
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 to 2 tablespoons fish sauce (we dont use this because I have seafood allergies)
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons oil
Hot sticky rice
Garnish: Chinese parsley sprigs, cut into 2-inch lengths
Red chili peppers (optional)

Directions:

Place chickens in a large bowl. In a food processor or blender combine lemon grass, ginger, garlic, shallots, parsley roots, brown sugar, coconut milk, fish sauce, soy sauce and oil; blend until smooth. Pour sauce over chickens and marinate overnight in the refrigerator. (I know I didnt do this, I didnt want to wait until tomorrow).

I just put mine in a skillet and cook them and then pour the sauce over it and let it simmer until it tastes like a small slice of heaven. Serve with hot sticky rice. Garnish with Chinese parsley and red chili peppers.

Makes 4 to 6 servings. Or in our case it is barely enough for me and Mike because we cannot control ourselves.
Leave a Reply

Categories

