Posted by: webbhouston | November 2, 2008

Feliz Dia De Los Muertos

Sugar Skulls

Sugar Skulls

Today is the last day of the Dia de los Muertos celebration of my culture.

Sadly, many people of Mexico now celebrate Halloween and have forgotten the beauty of our own celebration of the dead. I guess tha allure of dressing up and eating candy until you puke is too much to bear.

Many people still celebrate it the way that it is supposed to be done. Generally what one does is make food (the favorite foods of your deceased) and bring it along with drinks and other offerings of flowers and gifts and it is lain on the graves of your dead. If you dont they supposedly dont rest well and haunt you. I remember pouring booze into the grave of my great uncle and orange Fanta in my aunt’s grave.

I was going to have super Kate helpe me make “pan de muerto” but we had our photo shoot today with RL.

The photo shoot went well,or as well as it could go with a two year old and a two month old. I think we will get some great photographs and of course I will post the link to the album here. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Categories

