Posted by: webbhouston | November 2, 2008

Cheap and easy quick dinners

Ethnic foods edition:

This year I really started to develop a taste for couscous. It is extremely easy to cook, takes just 5 minutes (literally) to be done, it is a great starch with good protein in it, and it is the perfect “base” for many a meal. It can be served hot or cold, sweet or savory, flavored or plain.

Tonight after a busy day Mike and I looked at each other and almost simultaneously asked “Whats for dinner?”. I made a yummy lasagna yesterday and we had the leftovers for lunch… so we were looking for something else to fill our needs.

Looking in our pantry I found some of this magic grain and went to town. Within 10  minutes I had a coconut milk curry sauce with chicken and a couscous bed for it to lay on. It was healthy, yummy, and perfect.

close up of couscous

close up of couscous

Using this instead of rice has made the time that it takes me to make dinner be cut exponentially. I love me some rice, dont get me wrong… rice has got to be one of my favorite dishes ever, but I cannot spend 45 minutes making something every time that I need a starch side. I used mashed potatoes as well but again making them means boiling a potato for a good while and then mashing, the instant ones make me feel guilty. 😦

Leave a Reply

Categories

